命名您的公司并获取域名

教育 Brannans.com

这些年来,我们已经阅读了数十本有关命名公司的书籍。我们已经命名了几家公司,并且已经帮助一百多家企业选择或获取了他们的公司或品牌.com域名。没有一个适合所有人的解决方案,下面的任何事情实际上都是对流程的过度简化,但是我们确实认为这里的几点对您有帮助。

在过去的十年中,我们了解了有关购买域名进行品牌推广的一些知识:

  1. 它的 总是 现在购买您想要的域名会更便宜。 优质域名(如房地产)的价值不断上升。当弗雷德里克·劳·奥尔姆斯特德(Frederick Law Olmsted)游说动人的城市,县和州为公园购买物业时,他总是告诉城市规划者,没有比现在更好的购买房地产的时间了。因为几年后,您现在正在考虑购买的同一座房地产将变得更加昂贵。而且,如果您将其留给下一代使用,对于他们来说,购买现在要比现在购买要昂贵得多。
  2. 讲质量 –以及域名客户和消费者将要使用的域名– 如果您在美国,请获取一个.com。如果您在欧洲,通常只在自己的国家/地区内开展业务(例如,.de为德国,.co.uk为英国,.fr为法国,.es为西班牙,等等)。在大多数使用西班牙语的国家/地区中存在一些例外,这些国家/地区采用了.com,并且使用的语言与其实际的国家/地区代码TLD(ccTLD)相同或更多。 所有其他扩展都是垃圾。 我们已经看过.TV,.MOBI,.TEL和其他类似的内容来来往往。他们从未被消费者所习惯。它们大部分在领域投资者之间进行交易。这与新的顶级域名(TLD)一样。甚至我们最喜欢的.CO并没有真正起飞。考虑一下Overstock为竞选活动支付了数百万美元并尝试O.CO时发生了什么。没有。他们之所以返回Overstock.com,是因为它使客户感到困惑,并且损害了而不是帮助其品牌推广工作。有大量的信息与我们矛盾。根据我们的经验,顶级域名(TLD)背后的注册服务商和注册管理机构将这些信息推到最辛苦的地步,因为这正是他们所出售的。在讨论中,.io和.xyz经常出现,请记住,我拥有10年的历史数据。消费者没有使用新的扩展。
  3. 如果您想为自己的企业提供一个不错的域名,则可能需要考虑多个名称,然后才能按照您愿意花的预算达成协议。 即使一家公司筹集了大量资金,并且出于所有目的和目的,也没有预算,这是正确的。即使没有预算,也有一些根本不出售的名称。我们有一个客户坚持认为他们将拥有Baby.com(Johnson和Johnson拥有的开发网站)。因此,我们一直在询问,一直在提供产品,并且一直在尝试为其购买域名。当他们的总法律顾问办公室发出停止和终止通知书时,我们确定他们完全属于“否”类别,我们不再询问,并且说服客户选择其他名字。
  4. 如果您走这条路,则应保留经纪人的服务以帮助您。 如果您选择我们,我们将与您一起为您的品牌自由选择10、20、50甚至100个名字的样式。 (不考虑可用或不可用的内容。)从来没有任何方法可以知道某人要问一个域名。我们看到价格范围从令人惊讶的低到荒谬的高-介于两者之间。我们所做的有时确实非常乏味。我们会系统地联系您,并与您潜在列表中的每个人进行对话,以查看该名称是否可用。名称是否由《财富》 20强公司拥有(其中一些要出售)或高资产净值个人(其中一些要出售)并不重要。网站上是否有内容也无关紧要。那里什么都没有-它可能仍然不会出售。该公司可能已经停止营业,但该网站看起来仍然很活跃-在这种情况下,它可能正在出售。我们发现,您必须经过确定才能真正知道。而且检查可能是一个困难的过程。我们在这里的作用是帮助您确定将要满意的名称,确定所有者/决策者,代表您进行谈判,一次将名单缩小到一名决赛选手,并确保您获得域名每个人都希望这将是一个顺利的交易,您想要的价格以及他们从中获得的收益。
  5. 如果您正在考虑没有经纪人的话,请谨慎。我们建议不要这样做。如果您不选择我们,请选择具有同样强大的推荐人和完成的交易的人。合格的经纪人将节省您的时间和金钱。他们将赚取其所有费用。

因此,如果您要创建品牌或新公司,请告诉我们。我们很乐意帮助您进行头脑风暴,将其全部扔掉,然后通过查看销售价格和价格开始缩小列表的范围。我们会为您提供新品牌或新业务的域名。

Naming your Company and getting the domain name

In Education by Brannans.com

We’ve read dozens of books on naming companies over the years. We’ve named several companies, and we’ve helped over one hundred businesses pick or get their company or brand name .com domain name, too. There isn’t a one-size fits all solution, and anything below is really a gross oversimplification of the process, but we do think a few points here will help you out if you’re in this position.

Over the past decade, we’ve learned a few things about buying a domain name for branding:

  1. It’s always going to be cheaper to buy the domain name you want now. Quality domain names, like real estate, appreciate in value. When Frederick Law Olmsted was going around convincing cities, counties, and states to purchase property for parks he always told the city planners that there’s never a better time to buy real estate than right now. Because, in a few years, the same real estate you’re considering now will be more expensive to purchase. And if you leave it to the next generation, it’s going to be far more expensive for them to buy than it is for you to buy it now.
  2. Speaking to quality – and a domain name customers and consumers are going to use – if you’re in the US, get a .com. If you’re in Europe, there are generally better extensions for you if you’re only going to do business within your home country (.de for Germany, .co.uk for England, .fr for France, .es for Spain, etc). A few exceptions exist in mostly Spanish speaking countries where .com was adopted and is used as much or more than their actual country code TLD (ccTLD). All of the other extensions are garbage. We’ve seen .TV, .MOBI, .TEL and several others like them come and go. They never got used by consumers. They were for the most part traded between domain investors. Same with this new crop of TLDs. Even our favorite, .CO, didn’t really take off. Consider what happened when Overstock paid millions for the campaign and tried O.CO. Nothing. They went back to Overstock.com because it was confusing their customers and hurting, not helping, their branding efforts. There is plenty of information out there contradicting us. In our experience, the registrars and registries behind the TLDs are the ones that are pushing this information out the hardest because that’s what they’re selling. .io and .xyz get thrown around a lot during this discussion, just keep in mind, I’ve got 10 years of historical data on my side. Consumers aren’t using the new extensions.
  3. If you want a great domain name for your business, you may have to consider several names before you’re able to put together a deal on the budget you’re willing to spend. This is true even with a company that’s raised a substantial amount of money and for all intents and purposes there is no budget. Even with no budget, there are names that are simply not for sale. We had a client insist that they were going to own Baby.com (a developed website owned by Johnson and Johnson). So, we kept asking, we kept offering, and we kept trying to purchase the domain name for them. When the cease and desist letter arrived from their general counsels office, we were certain that they were squarely in the “no” category, we stopped asking, and we convinced our clients to pick another name.
  4. If you’re on this path, you should retain the services of a broker to help you out. If you pick us, we’ll work with you to freestyle a list of 10, 20, 50, or even 100 names you’d consider for your brand. (Without considering what may or may not be available.) There is never any way to know what someone is going to ask for a domain name. We see prices across the spectrum from surprisingly low to absurdly high – and everything in between. What we do is really quite tedious at times. We systematically reach out and speak to everyone on your potential list to see if the name may be available. It doesn’t matter if the name is owned by a Fortune 20 company – some of those are for sale – or a high net worth individual – some of those are for sale. It also doesn’t matter if there is content at the site. Nothing there – it still may not be for sale. The company may have stopped doing business but the website still looks active – in which case it may be for sale. We’ve found that you never really know until you’ve checked to be sure. And checking can be a difficult process. Our role here is to help you identify the names you’re going to be happy with, identify the owners / decision makers, negotiate on your behalf, narrow the list down to one finalist at a time and make sure you get the domain name at the price you want and that they get the money in what everyone hopes will be a nice smooth transaction.
  5. A word of caution if you’re thinking about going this without a broker. We recommend against it. If you don’t pick us, pick someone with equally strong referrals and completed transactions. A qualified broker will save you time and money. They’ll earn every bit of their fee.

So, if you’re looking to launch a brand or a new company, let us know. We’ll be happy to help you do some brainstorming, throw it all out there, and then start narrowing down the list by seeing what’s for sale and at what prices. And we’ll get you a domain name for your new brand or business.